Skip to main content

Research through the Library: Finding a Topic

Finding a Topic

Make sure that you completely understand the assignment and what your instructor wants you to do.  You can always ask your instructor if you have any questions about the assignment.  

Try and find a topic that interests you.  Researching will be less of a chore if you have an interest in the topic.

If you are having trouble finding a topic, here are some library databases that may give you some ideas.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is a database where reseachers can find original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on current events and issues.  It gives in depth, unbiased coverage of topics and each report contains an overview of the subject, background, chronology, assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from both sides of the issue and bibliographies that can direct you to more resources.

To access CQ Researcher, go the OSUIT library homepage http://www.osuit.edu/academics/library/index.html and click on the "Electronic Databases" link.  For those on campus CQ Researcher is under the General Topics and Current Events category, if you are off campus you will see an alphabetical list, scroll down until you find CQ Researcher.

Two ways to use CQ Researcher when you are getting started is to Browse Topics or Search by keyword. (see image below)

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center 

This database is "designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.  Each essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought, as well as, thousands of supporting articles.  You can browse through categories to find a topic or search keywords. 

To access Points of View Reference Center go the OSUIT library homepage http://www.osuit.edu/academics/library/index.html and click on the "Electronic Databases" link.  For those on campus Points of View Reference Center is under the General Topics and Current Events category, if you are off campus you will see an alphabetical list, scroll down until you find Points of View Reference Center. 

ProCon.org

ProCon.org provides free unbiased information on controversial issues by listing pro and con debates about the issues.  This database also gives background on the topics, videos, and source bibliographies.

 To access ProCon.org go the OSUIT library homepage http://www.osuit.edu/academics/library/index.html and click on the "Electronic Databases" link.  For those on campus ProCon.org is under the General Topics and Current Events category, if you are off campus you will see an alphabetical list, scroll down until you find ProCon.org. 


Britannica Encyclopedia Online

Britannica Online

Encyclopedia Britannica has been a highly reputable source for information since 1768.  The Britannica Online database is updated daily with articles, videos, ebooks, maps and much more.  You can explore this resource by searching with a keyword or by browsing through their articles and various research tools.  

Librarian

Jenny Duncan's picture
Jenny Duncan
Contact:
918-293-5488