Skip to main content

Research through the Library: Finding Journal Articles

Note on find FULL TEXT articles

During your database searches if you are having trouble finding the full text of an article you can always order it through our interlibrary loan service.  http://www.osuit.edu/academics/library/interlibrary_loans.html 

Fill out the Article Request form with all of the required fields and we will find your article for you and send it to you through email.   

Searching for articles with Databases

Searching for articles through a database instead of the world wide web will yield higher quality results and will save you time researching and sifting through junk.  To access a database you will have to go to the library website and find the Electronic Databases link.  You will find a list of databases that you may use.  Some of these databases are specific for certain departments but many are for general use.  A few examples of popular databases include;  

Academic Search Premier is a great place to start if you are researching subjects like, Current Events, Humanities, Sciences, Social Science, and more!

CINAHL or Medline are very good for doing any medical research.  

Newspaper Source Plus will help you find newspaper articles from around the country.

Britannica Online is a great encyclopedia resource!  It is full of reliable articles, images, maps, and more.  The perfect alternative to Wikipedia.

 

Searching in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.